Score book + CD Alberto Velez flamenco compositions

  • 1

€ 29.95 EUR

This contains eight of his works for Flamenco Guitar, written and fingered by Oscar Herrero. It includes documentation on the professional life of Alberto Vélez, who was an all-round guitarist, who stood out for his musical knowledge. He played with all the big names, Ramón Montoya, Niño Ricardo and Mario Escudero. He accompanied Vallejo, Cepero, Marchena, El Gloria, Fosforito, Tomás Pavón, Valderrama, Canalejas and others while they sang. In addition to the actual pieces, the CD contains a 17 minutes conversation with Alberto Vélez. “This is about that grand maestro with whom, to my great, good fortune, I shared many a stage at the very beginning of my artistic career,. We shared happy moments, and sad ones as well, throughout which he always set a wonderful example, both as an artist and a man. This is about our beloved and dear friend, Alberto Vélez. Through the expression of my music, I would like to let Alberto know that all his teaching and advice were not in vain”, quote from Manolo Sanlúcar during a concert performance on March 22, 1996).
  • Description
  • Specifications
  • Essential
  • Audio
  • Delivery
  • Secure payments

Alberto Vélez has demonstrated a remarkable talent for the guitar his entire life. Born in 1921 in a small town (El Cerro de Andévalo) in the province of Huelva, Spain, he debuted as a professional guitarist in Sevilla, while yet a youth. A guitarist of extensive skill and repertoire, Vélez's remarkable depth of musical knowledge is noteworthy. His was a regular presence in "Flamenco Opera" shows held in the major theaters and bullrings of the time. Throughout that prolific era of popular flamenco performances, he performed alongside other outstanding artists such as Ramón Montoya, Niño Ricardo and Mario Escudero. Vélez accompanied many important flamenco singers––Manuel Vallejo, José Cepero, Pepe Marchena, Tomás Pavón, El Gloria, Valderrama, Canalejas, Fosforito––as well as renowned flamenco dancers such as Antonio and Rosario. He and his wife, Raquel Lucas, formed an artistic duo. Raquel was the lead dancer for Concha Piquer's troupe, as well as Estrellita Castro and Antoñita Moreno's companies. Vélez toured Europe and America several times. His travels also took him to Japan and South Africa as the guitarist for the popular singer Marisol. He performed in several of her movies along with Antonio and Rafael de Córdoba. He performed in movies with Pepe Marchena as well. Vélez gave a solo performance in Albert Hall, London, after being chosen among many other notable performers of the season. As a concert guitarist, he performed with "El Niño Ricardo", and Mario Escudero, with whom he made a recording in Paris. Vélez also recorded with Fosforito, Rafael Farina and Manolo "El Malagueño". Vélez suffered an untimely injury on a right-hand finger. This eventually caused him to give up performing altogether, putting an end to a promising professional career. Many attractive offers to perform and record had to be turned down. Vélez performed for many years at the "Las Brujas" flamenco tablao (club) in Madrid, where he and Manolo Sanlúcar developed a deep and long-lasting friendship. In the latter part of his professional career, Vélez was appointed professor at the Royal School for Dramatic Arts and Dance of Madrid.

  • Score Book + CD
  • Author: Oscar Herrero
  • A4 - 100 pages
  • Spanish - English


€ 65.95

The 5th release in the flamenco master series with the famous flamenco guitarist and composer from Algeciras Spain, José Manuel León.


In these classes, available in book, DVD and online streaming format, José Manuel León invites us all to learn his techniques and playing. José demonstrates 6 of his most outstanding CD compositions in practice and replays them on a split screen with close ups of the left and right hands. The demonstrated compositions include the bulería ‘Sirimusa’, a soléa, a tango, a seguiriya and a combination of a fandango, tanguillo, tiento, tango and a bulería. The accompanying book, having over 170 pages, provides authentic transcriptions...written by Max Herzog in close collaboration with José Manuel Leó both standard music notation and tablature. The DVD has over 20 minutes of extras to enjoy some wonderful live performances of José Manuel León.

As confirmed by musicologists José Manuel León is considered to be the flamenco guitarist continuing the revolution driven by Paco de Lucía...precisely also from Algeciras. His...

Your order will be shipped in 1 or 2 days after receipt of your order. During holiday periods, delivery might take a little longer. You can track your order at 'My Account'.

The lowest shipping cost to your home address is calculated automatically at checkout. There is no extra charge if a single order results in subsequent deliveries. Shipping is only available to residential addresses. 


Return right: You have 14 days to decide if the item is right for you. A return can be requested by clicking on 'My Account' at the top right and next select the "Returns". La Sonanta guarantees to refund any items, less shipping charges, provided that they are returned in original condition. The online tracking of the transport service will identify the time of receipt at home. In-store purchases or sealed products like DVD, Books and CDs as well as annouced clearence sales do not qualify for return rights.

Your security and privacy ... our priority.


Our commitment is unlimited in relation to the safety of your orders and your privacy.

Every time you pay for an order at La Sonanta your card number and identity are encrypted and unvisible stored by our 3-D Secure™ anti-frau protection. Your actual card number simply can not and will not ever be known by anyone due to this encrypted and TLS authenticated technology making online payments an ultra safe online shopping experience.


Besides secured online payments with all major credit cards and payment methods, we also support international bank wire transfer for all online orders.